Green Bay Catholic Diocese sets School/Religious Education Policy on Human Sexuality

Posted on 7-14-2022

Policy Follows Church Teaching

GREEN BAY, Wis. (July 8, 2022) – Over the past year, the Diocesan Office of Catholic Schools has researched and discerned the issue of human sexuality as it relates to Catholic teaching, and has issued several policies to guide their Catholic Schools and Religious Education programs.

“God created man in his image, in the divine image he created him; male and female he created them.” – Genesis 1:27

“At the heart of a Catholic educational institution’s unique educational charism is integral formation of the whole human person,” said Todd Blahnik, Families and Schools of Discipleship Formation Mission Team Leader.

“It is the policy of the Diocese of Green Bay to interact with students according to their biological sex based upon physical differences at birth. Occasionally there may be instances where young people experience conflict between their biological sex and the roles and norms advocated by society. Some young people might feel drawn to dress, act, and even manipulate their physical bodies in ways contrary to God’s plan. We advocate that young people, working with their parents, bring these issues to their pastor or other trained Christian professionals who might best assist them in clarifying and defining God’s plan.”

“As followers of Jesus, we embrace the truth that we are created by God as male and female and that we are loved by Him,” said Father John Girotti, Vicar General, Diocese of Green Bay.

The diocese/diocesan schools/religious education programs joyfully exercise their responsibility to teach Catholic faith and morals in all fullness and especially as expressed in the Catechism of the Catholic  Church. Sincere questioning of the practices of the Catholic faith in order to more deeply understand them is welcome.

Established in 1868, the Green Bay Diocese is composed of 324,000 Catholics in 16 counties: Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago.