NWTC & UW-Green Bay Partner to Expand Student Transfer Opportunities

Posted on 4-21-2022

Northeast Wisconsin Technical College (NWTC) and UW-Green Bay will offer new transfer opportunities for learners to earn Associate of Arts and Associate of Arts and Science degrees.

The two institutions of higher education partnered in an announcement at a press conference at the Brown County STEM Innovation Center, located on the UW-Green Bay campus, April 11, 2022.

For the first time, students can begin their bachelor’s degree at NWTC with the new, two-year transfer program. After completing the Associate of Arts or Associate of Science degree – with focus on the foundational general studies necessary for the attainment of a bachelor’s degree – students can transfer to UW-Green Bay as a junior status.

UW-Green Bay and NWTC have long held to the the notion that despite coming from two different systems (UW System and Technical College System), they should partner in higher education pathways.

“We are thrilled that we are able to create more robust and direct transfer pathways between our institutions that make sense for students and expand the ecosystem of higher education in Northeast Wisconsin,” said UW-Green Bay Chancellor Michael Alexander. “This progress honors the great education that is happening at the technical colleges in our region and provides equitable transfer from technical college degrees into further education at UW-Green Bay. It provides access and opportunity for more students to expand their education beyond high school.”

About 50% of NWTC’s transfer students enroll within the University of Wisconsin system, and 50% of those students choose to attend UW-Green Bay. This collaborative partnership between NWTC and UW-Green Bay provides a clear pathway for students to envision themselves in continuing to pursue their academic goals through transfer programs.

UW Green Bay

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay is a multi-campus comprehensive university offering exemplary undergraduate, master’s and select doctoral programs and operating with a commitment to excellence in teaching, scholarship and research, and service to the community. The University provides a problem focused educational experience that promotes critical thinking and student success.

The culture and vision of the University reflect a deep commitment to diversity, inclusion, social justice, civic engagement, and educational opportunity at all levels. Our core values embrace community-based partnerships, collaborative faculty scholarship and innovation.

Our commitment to a university that promotes access, career success, cross-discipline collaboration, cultural enrichment, economic development, entrepreneurship, and environmental sustainability is demonstrated through a wide array of programs and certifications offered in four colleges: College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; College of Science, Engineering and Technology (including the Richard Resch School of Engineering); College of Health, Education and Social Welfare; and the Austin E. Cofrin School of Business, leading to a range of degrees, including AAS, BA, BAS, BBA, BM, BS, BSN, BSW, MS, MSW, MSN, and Ed.D.​