UW-Green Bay to Reopen in Phases, Beginning July 1st

Posted on 6-18-2020

Green Bay, Wis.—The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay announced today an overview of a two-phased plan to bring faculty, staff and students back to all four UW-Green Bay campuses (Green Bay, Marinette, Manitowoc and Sheboygan) for the Fall 2020 semester.

Faculty and staff who need to be on campus to do their jobs will be able to return to their offices and work spaces on July 1st, 2020. The plan also includes the opening of some outdoor spaces used by the public as of July 1st. 

It’s the first return of UW-Green Bay employees since mid-March, when, because of COVID-19, students, faculty and staff were asked to vacate campus and study/attend classes and work from home.

Many employees will continue their work virtually throughout the summer and into the fall to minimize the number of people on campus. 

In a follow-up announcement, University officials shared a document Thursday (June 18th) which outlines expectations and guidelines for Phase 1. The plan also includes the opening of some outdoor spaces to the public beginning July 1st.

The PDF document is available Here.

University officials continue to work on specific details for fall, and will communicate those as soon as they become available.

UW Green Bay

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay is a multi-campus comprehensive university offering exemplary undergraduate, master’s and select doctoral programs and operating with a commitment to excellence in teaching, scholarship and research, and service to the community. The University provides a problem focused educational experience that promotes critical thinking and student success.

The culture and vision of the University reflect a deep commitment to diversity, inclusion, social justice, civic engagement, and educational opportunity at all levels. Our core values embrace community-based partnerships, collaborative faculty scholarship and innovation.

Our commitment to a university that promotes access, career success, cross-discipline collaboration, cultural enrichment, economic development, entrepreneurship, and environmental sustainability is demonstrated through a wide array of programs and certifications offered in four colleges: College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; College of Science, Engineering and Technology (including the Richard Resch School of Engineering); College of Health, Education and Social Welfare; and the Austin E. Cofrin School of Business, leading to a range of degrees, including AAS, BA, BAS, BBA, BM, BS, BSN, BSW, MS, MSW, MSN, and Ed.D.​