UW-Green Bay Wins Grant to Develop New Elder Justice Coalition

Posted on 4-17-2024

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay in collaboration with the Wisconsin Department of Justice won a $327,957 grant to strengthen the Elder Justice Coalition in Wisconsin. Wisconsin’s Elder Justice Coalition collaborates with state agencies, statewide organizations, and non-governmental agencies to bridge gaps in needed services, raise public awareness, and advocate for elder justice in Wisconsin.

The grant was awarded to UW-Green Bay by Lifespan of Greater Rochester, which runs the National Center for State and Tribal Elder Justice Coalitions as part of funding they receive through the U.S. Department of Justice, Office for Victims of Crime. The Wisconsin Elder Justice Coalition grant period runs from October 2023 through September 2025.

“With strong partnerships, communities can more effectively combat elder abuse,” said Wisconsin Attorney General Josh Kaul. “I commend UW-Green Bay for seeking to foster greater collaboration to protect Wisconsinites from elder abuse.”

The U.S. Census Bureau estimates that nearly 26% of Wisconsin’s population will be 60 and older by the year 2030, an increase of more than 36% from 2012.

Read More HERE.

UW Green Bay

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay is a multi-campus comprehensive university offering exemplary undergraduate, master’s and select doctoral programs and operating with a commitment to excellence in teaching, scholarship and research, and service to the community. The University provides a problem focused educational experience that promotes critical thinking and student success.

The culture and vision of the University reflect a deep commitment to diversity, inclusion, social justice, civic engagement, and educational opportunity at all levels. Our core values embrace community-based partnerships, collaborative faculty scholarship and innovation.

Our commitment to a university that promotes access, career success, cross-discipline collaboration, cultural enrichment, economic development, entrepreneurship, and environmental sustainability is demonstrated through a wide array of programs and certifications offered in four colleges: College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; College of Science, Engineering and Technology (including the Richard Resch School of Engineering); College of Health, Education and Social Welfare; and the Austin E. Cofrin School of Business, leading to a range of degrees, including AAS, BA, BAS, BBA, BM, BS, BSN, BSW, MS, MSW, MSN, and Ed.D.​