Weidner Center to Host ¡Estamos Aqui! Art Gallery Ribbon Cutting

Posted on 9-14-2023

In celebration of the Sister Cities of Green Bay, Wisconsin, and Irapuato, Mexico’s Arts & Culture Exchange Initiative, the Weidner Center at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay campus will host the ¡Estamos Aqui! Art Gallery Ribbon Cutting on Friday, September 15th, from 4:00pm to 6:00pm–welcoming artist Diego Gasca with his 23-piece photographic exhibit “Windows into the Future” or “Ventanas Futuras.”

Ribbon-cutting participants will include artist Diego Gasca, Amanda Garcia – CEO Casa Alba Melanie, Mayor Eric Gingrich -City of Green Bay, and Kelli Strickland, Artistic and Executive Director – The Weidner. The event is in partnership with Casa ALBA Melanie, The Weidner Center, and UW-Green Bay.

¡Estamos Aqui! is a family-friendly, all-inclusive event highlighting the Hispanic communities living, creating, and thriving in the Greater Green Bay Area. The Art Exhibition will be open to the public  – with free admission – on Saturday, September 16th at the Estamos Aqui Hispanic Festival.

UW Green Bay

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay is a multi-campus comprehensive university offering exemplary undergraduate, master’s and select doctoral programs and operating with a commitment to excellence in teaching, scholarship and research, and service to the community. The University provides a problem focused educational experience that promotes critical thinking and student success.

The culture and vision of the University reflect a deep commitment to diversity, inclusion, social justice, civic engagement, and educational opportunity at all levels. Our core values embrace community-based partnerships, collaborative faculty scholarship and innovation.

Our commitment to a university that promotes access, career success, cross-discipline collaboration, cultural enrichment, economic development, entrepreneurship, and environmental sustainability is demonstrated through a wide array of programs and certifications offered in four colleges: College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; College of Science, Engineering and Technology (including the Richard Resch School of Engineering); College of Health, Education and Social Welfare; and the Austin E. Cofrin School of Business, leading to a range of degrees, including AAS, BA, BAS, BBA, BM, BS, BSN, BSW, MS, MSW, MSN, and Ed.D.​